Croatian Youth Hostel Association celebrated with a formal programme on 31st of January, in Zagreb's Old City Hall, 60 years of existence and...

Are you a blogger? Have you ever thought about swapping lives, places, cultures and BLOGS with someone across the globe? We’re offering a...

The  most important game of the qualifying cycle for the World Cup 2014 in Brasil is nearing. On Friday the 22nd of March at Maksimir stadium...

International carnival parade is the crown of carnival festivities in the Kvarner region and beyond. Competition in imagination, humor and...

This is a good opportunity to give yourself, your friends and loved ones a sailing course. The price is festive 20% off. Discount applies to all...

« 1 2 3 4 5 »
Since 1 July 2013 Croatia is officially in European Union
Croatia became the 28th member state of the European Union on 1 July 2013.

This is the first EU enlargement since Bulgaria and Romania joined the European Union in 2007. and also first single country to join EU after Greece in 1981.

After Slovenia, Croatia is the second former Yugoslav republic to join the EU.

Croatian language has become the 24th official language of the European Union.

Travel to Croatia – what has changed for EU member states citizens?

Young EU citizens

Croatia has drawn many EU citizens in the past, who are attracted by its unspoiled nature, rich vegetation, good roads, fantastic food and welcoming people.

The EU entry will make access now even easier for EU citizens travelling to Croatia. Citizens of any EU member country can now enter Croatia using only an ID card.
Furthermore, they will no longer have to deal with customs clearance.

The same applies for Croatian citizens who can now enter any EU member country using a valid ID card.

Customs, Borders and Visa policy

no more customs

The customs between Croatia and EU member states are abolished.

Border checks at common borders with Slovenia and Hungary (neighbouring EU member states) will remain until Croatia's accession to the Schengen Agreement.
This could take up to a few years.

Croatia’s visa policy is fully harmonized with that of the EU.
This means that from that date onwards the classic visa regime will apply for the citizens of Russia and Turkey as well as citizens of all those countries that need visa for entering the EU member countries.

However, due to the importance of the Russian market, which in recent years has shown a significant increase in tourist traffic, Croatia is trying to shorten and simplify the visa issuance procedure as much as possible.

For entering Croatia, Russian citizens will be issued visas in a speedy manner (generally no longer than five days after the application is received).
Multiple-entry visas can also be issued.
Visa fee remains 35 EUR.

Currency in Croatia

By joining the EU, Croatia will not automatically become a Eurozone member and will thus not automatically introduce the common currency – Euro.

The currency in Croatia remains Croatian Kuna (HRK) – 1,00 EUR = app 7,50 HRK.

Find a hostel
Book hostels worldwide (including our hostel in Samobor) on hihostels.com: